Georgetown, MA 01833
The Captain Samuel Brocklebank house was built in the late 1600s. The land on which the house stands was granted in 1661 to Samuel Brocklebank who, with his widowed mother and brother, was among the first group of settlers in Rowley in 1639. Captain Brocklebank was killed in Sudbury in 1676 when he and his militia company were ambushed by Indians during King Philip's War. The house remained in the Brocklebank family until 1755, when it was acquired by Dudley Tyler for use as a tavern. Solomon Nelson, who purchased the property in 1765, also kept a tavern here for many years and made substantial additions and renovations to the house. Solomon’s son, Major Paul Nelson, acquired the property in 1811 and ran a store on the premises. In 1858 the house was purchased by Reverend Charles Beecher, brother of Harriet Beecher Stowe and a controversial figure in his own right. An ardent abolitionist, he was the pastor of the Old South Congregational Church where, in 1863, he was tried and convicted of heresy.
Now owned and operated as a museum by the Georgetown Historical Society, the house contains many unique antiques and artifacts pertaining to Georgetown’s past.
- Family Friendly
- Volunteer Opportunities
- Historic Resources