Wenham, MA 01984
The Wenham Museum is a family attraction appealing to all ages. The Museum opened in 1922, and has grown tremendously over the years into a great resource for Essex County, Massachusetts and visitors from around the world. Highlights of the Museum include the Claflin-Gerrish-Richards House c.1690 with three centuries of architecture, furnishings and artifacts, a world-famous doll and toy collection, a model train room with nine operating layouts of twelve trains in various gauges, a costume & textile gallery, a children’s interactive Family Discovery Gallery and special changing exhibit galleries that bring history and culture to life. Visitors may also enjoy a full schedule of education programs and special events for adults, children and families, and a charming Museum Shop.
Ongoing Education Programming:
School and Group Programs
- Museums Are For Kids- youngest visitors – play group, day care, pre-school
- Fireside Chat- Pre K –gr 2 costumed interpreter program in Claflin Richards house
- Colonial Life with the Claflins gr 2-4 hands-on, companion to social studies curriculum
- Native Americans of the Northshore gr 2-4 artifact based overview of Wampanoag life
All of these as well as custom themed programs may be reserved by Homeschool groups.
Monthly Community Ed
- M is for Museum- young family programming in conjunction with Ham/Wen/Man CFCE
- Student Art Gallery in partnership with schools of Essex County
School Vacation Programming
- February- Lego Palooza (free build) and Pop- Up Art Studio
- April- Earth Day experience and Pop- Up Art Studio
- Summer- Lego Engineering Workshop, Lego Robotics Workshop, Countdown to Kindergarten, Old-fashioned Games &ice cream, Monthly Weekend Large Event
Contact: Mary McDonald Dir. of Education &Audience Engagement, email@example.com, 978-609-0038
Site Notes & Advisories:
The Claflin-Richards House, now the Wenham Museum, contains three centuries of architecture, furnishings, and artifacts that reflect family life in a small New England village. Architectural features: The house was built with Ogee braces, an architectural detail typically found in 16th- and 17th-century English dwellings. The house contains a First Period dwelling room, a late 17th-century minister's parlor, and a ca. 1750 bed chamber. On display in the Kimball Chamber is a 1724 woolen bed-rug, said to have been made for a Wenham bride. It is considered to be one of the finest pieces of American folk art north of Boston, and the second oldest such rug known to exist in this country. Designations: National Register of Historic Places (1973); National Historic District (1973).
- Family Friendly
- Handicap Accessible
- First Period Architecture
- Historic Resources
- Early Settlement Trail