Heritage Hero Award

Essex Heritage established the Heritage Hero Award to recognize the special contributions made by individuals whose commitments embody our mission to protect and preserve the region’s rich historic, cultural, and natural resources for the benefit of all who live, work, and visit the area.

2015 Essex Heritage Hero Award Dinner
May 7, 2015 at Danversport Yacht Club

This year, we are thrilled to be honoring three incredibly deserving individuals who, over a span of 50 years, have collectively inspired a powerful land conservation ethos in Essex County and beyond:

The 2015 Heritage Hero Award Dinner will take place May 7, 2015 at Danversport Yacht Club.  We are looking forward to celebrating with Presenting Sponsor, the Institution for Savings. Like our honorees, the Institution for Savings is dedicated to making Essex County communities better places in which to live and work -- and we thank them for their support and commitment. Learn more about other sponsorship opportunities here (pdf).   

Tickets can be purchased by mail or online. 

2015 Honorary Committee

The 2015 Essex Heritage Hero Award Dinner will be a "can't miss" event and that is in large part because of our extremely dedicated Honorary Committee.   Thank you to each of the members for their passion for Essex Heritage and support of our Heroes.  

If you are interested in learning more about the event or have inquiries about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Robyn Giannopolo by email, RobynG@essexheritage.org, or by phone, 978-740-0444.

Previous Honorees

2013 Honorees:

Joanne Holbrook Patton & the Patton Family

2012 Honoree:

Thomas M. Leonard, President Emeritus, Essex National Heritage Commission

2011 Honorees:

Dr. Wayne Burton, President North Shore Community College

Kimberley Driscoll, Mayor of Salem

Mr. Wayne Marquis, Danvers Town Manager

2010 Honorees:

Nicholas Costello, Former Mayor of Amesbury

Byron Matthews, Former Mayor of Newburyport

Maria Miles, Founder of the Salisbury Chamber of Commerce

2009 Honoree:  

Thomas P. Costin, of Nahant

2008 Honoree:  

Jim McAllister, the locally beloved historian, author, columnist and owner of Derby Square Tours in Salem, MA