September 25, 2020 – The Essex National Heritage Commission (Essex Heritage), a non-profit that manages and provides numerous programs preserving and enhancing Essex County’s historic, natural and cultural places, hosted their first ever virtual Annual Meeting on Thursday, September 17. “Usually our annual meetings take place at special sites around the county and give attendees a chance to explore new and unique places,” says Essex Heritage CEO Annie Harris. “In this virtual format, we still wanted our partners, colleagues, and community leaders to be able to connect with one another as we highlight and recognize so much that has happened in the heritage area.” 

The business portion of the meeting included welcoming incoming Board of Trustees President, David C. Read, and thanking outgoing president, Polly Brown. The Commission also announced its newly elected trustees and commissioners. After the business portion, attendees were able to gather in virtual breakout rooms to connect with colleagues with a focus on nature, history, or culture.  

New Trustees, and Commissioners Elected

Essex Heritage is governed by a 24-member Board of Trustees and supported by over 100 Commissioners who live and/or work within Essex County and who serve as representatives of the communities, businesses, community organizations, educational institutions and historic, cultural and natural resources of the region. “Our Trustees and Commissioners serve an important role as ambassadors and advocates for this region,” said Ms. Harris. “Essex Heritage is pleased to welcome the new Trustees and Commissioners, and we’re grateful for their leadership and support in promoting regional cooperation in Essex County.” 

The following individuals were elected to serve the Essex National Heritage Commission:

New Trustees, 2020-2023

  • Karen Andreas with North of Boston Media Group

  • Patrick DeIulis of DeIulis Brothers Construction

New Commissioners, 2020-2023

  • Laura Assade, Director of Constituent Services and Latino Affairs Coordinator & LGBTQ Liaison for the Office of Salem Mayor Kimberley Driscoll  
  • Nathan Baez, Andover Breadloaf & Elevated Thought

  • Walter Beebe Center, owner of Essex Restorations

  • Nate Bryant, President of North Shore Community College

  • Doug DeAngelis, Greenbelt Trustee

  • Beth Isler, former member of Swampscott Planning Board, Swampscott 

  • Charles Lincicum, North Shore Nature & Recreation advocate & volunteer 

  • Doneeca Thurston, Director of Lynn Museum/Lynn Arts