Gloucester, MA 01930
John Hays Hammond Jr., known as “The Father of Radio Control,” was one of America’s most prolific inventors and a protégé of Guglielmo Marconi, Nikola Tesla, Thomas Edison, and Alexander Graham Bell. Built from 1926 through 1929, and incorporated as a museum in 1930, the castle’s architectural style is a mix of a medieval castle, medieval French village, and a Gothic cathedral. It was custom built to encompass Hammond’s private residence, laboratory, and museum quality collection of architectural elements from his travels throughout Europe. Also on display is Hammond’s extensive list of patents, his work with radio control and his work on guided torpedoes for the military.
Visitors to the Museum can explore many of the rooms, including the Great Hall, indoor courtyard, inventions exhibit room, library, War Room, and much more. Visitors may also enjoy the beauty of the castle grounds and rocky Atlantic coast.
Hammond Castle Museum is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The Museum offers guided tours and numerous educational and cultural events throughout its season. It is also available for private and corporate rentals year-round. Annual Memberships are offered.
At nearly a century old, Hammond Castle Museum is not handicapped accessible. Advanced ticket reservations are encouraged. Reserve your tickets at www.hammondcastle.org.
Site Notes & Advisories:
In addition to guided tours, Hammond Castle Museum offers a number of educational programs and prearranged tour opportunities for school and tour groups. Hammond Castle Museum is not handicapped accessible.
- Family Friendly
- Self guided
- Historic Resources
- Scenic Vistas